Download The Wellington App for more stories like this.

Four VUW professors become FRSNZ

Four VUW professors comprise a fifth of the new Fellows elected to the Academy of the Royal Society Te Apārangi.

The new fellows have been elected for their distinction in research and advancement of science, technology or the humanities, and will be inducted early next year, 100 years after the first 20 Fellows were inducted in 1919.

Being made a Fellow is an honour that recognises true international distinction in research, scholarship and the advancement of knowledge. Fellows can use the post-nominal ‘FRSNZ’ after their name to indicate this honour.

Professor Margaret Hyland is a world authority in surface chemistry, engineering and processes, and Vice-Provost (Research) at Victoria University of Wellington. Her expertise includes surface properties, structures of materials, industrial reactions involving pollutant gases and materials degradation. She was awarded the Royal Society Te Apārangi’s Pickering Medal in 2015 for her pioneering work to reduce fluoride emissions from the aluminium industry.

Professor Emily Parker, based at the Ferrier Research Institute at Victoria University of Wellington, has made a sustained contribution to the understanding of enzyme function at the molecular and organism level. This new knowledge has been applied to the design and synthesis of enzyme inhibitors as potential drugs, especially antibiotics.

Professor Susy Frankel is an international research leader and preeminent New Zealand-based scholar in international intellectual property law and its links with international trade, as well as the protection of Indigenous peoples’ knowledge. She is Chair in Intellectual Property and International Trade at the School of Law at Victoria University of Wellington and her scholarship has influenced the development of New Zealand’s intellectual property law and the interpretation of international agreements in the formation of domestic policy.

Professor in the School of Accounting and Commercial Law at Victoria University of Wellington, John Creedy continues to have a remarkable and influential academic career covering public economics, labour economics, income distribution and the history of economic analysis. He has made a vital contribution to New Zealand through his work at Treasury and his research on important ‘real world’ policy issues, including superannuation, welfare and tax, and is one of this country’s most respected and prolific academic economists

The full list of new Fellows is as follows:

The Society also announced the election of three Honorary Fellows. The election of Honorary Fellows aims to encourage strong ties with leading international scientists and scholars and New Zealand’s research community.

  • Professor Thomas Higham, University of Oxford, United Kingdom
  • Professor Ichiro Kawachi, Harvard University, USA
  • Distinguished Professor Warrick Couch, Swinburne University of Technology, Australia