Download The Wellington App for more stories like this.

Wellingtonians among record number of finalists at Sustainable Business Awards

Fourteen Wellington individuals and organisations are among a record number of finalists announced for the 2018 NZI Sustainable Business Network Awards.

The finalists include small businesses, large corporates, and not for profit organisations, showing that all types of organisations can make a success out of sustainability.

Half of the finalists for the Millennial on a Mission award, sponsored by the Ministry of Youth Development, are from Wellington: Olie Body, Finn Lawrence, Holly Norton and Danny Pritchard.

The chief executive of the Sustainable Business Network, Rachel Brown, says that the record numbers of high-quality finalists in the sixteenth year of the Awards speaks to growing business confidence in sustainability.

“It’s hard to find a business now that isn’t talking about the role it can play – or is already playing – to improve environmental or social performance. Our youth is screaming for action now from all sectors.

“Government has stepped up, seeing the economic opportunity if business leads on climate change, the circular economy and employment conditions. We are seeing a rapid growth in SBN’s membership. Businesses really want to build their capability so they can reap the rewards of embracing sustainability.” said Brown.

The winners of the NZI Sustainable Business Network Awards will be announced at a ceremony on 22 November in Auckland.

The Wellington finalists are:

Sustainability Trust, Communicating for Change Award
Wā Collective, Communicating for Change Award
Flight Plastics, Going Circular Award
Vinnies Wellington, Going Circular Award
Munch Cupboard, Hardwired for Social Good Award
Z Energy, Hardwired for Social Good Award
Danny Pritchard, Millennial on a Mission
Finn Lawrence, Millennial on a Mission
Olie Body, Millennial on a Mission
Holly Norton, Millennial on a Mission
Akina Foundation & NZ Post, Partnering for Good Award
Good Nature, Partnering for Good Award
Mevo, Smarter Transport Award
Karen Fifield, Sustainability Superstar Award